Standardized Testing

As I wander my classroom, monitoring my class as they engage in the Measurement of Academic Progress assessment, I can’t help but to feel helpless in the fact that I cannot aid them in their journey to achieve not only a higher score than their initial test taken back in September, but a score that exhibits the amount of growth they have achieved in the 4 months we have been in school thus far.  I watch their faces make interesting expressions as they process the question on the computer screen. Some actually look like they are in pain.  Others look like zombies from movies.  Blank stares.  Mouth slightly open.  Today’s test will take an average of 60-80 minutes to complete.  Multiply this by 3 for each core subject. Is this the best use of our time?

One comment

  1. Cody Gabriel · January 10, 2015

    Mr. Peterson,
    I too am in your education class and was reviewing your blog. I cam across this the other day when I was looking for things to include into the blog that I am creating and thought that it was well suited to the last post here. Hope you enjoy!!

    http://www.npr.org/blogs/ed/2014/11/17/362339421/testing-how-much-is-too-much

Leave a Reply

